side menu icon

Take The Mic - 2nd Annual Public Speaking Competition

Take The Mic Judges and Competitors
Pictured from left: Judge Laura Zagby-Dye; 1st place winner Alyssa Gresham; Mya Green; Caitlyn Williams; Celebrity Judge Tessa Spencer from Magic 107.3 FM and WCIV TV News 4; Celebrity Judge Bill Pickle of "In The Pickle Barrell" Talk Show; 3rd place winner Sarai Rodgers, Angela Rodgers; 2nd place winner Juanita Green and Celebrity Judge Kelly Golden of iheart Charleston, journalist, talk show host and GSESC Board member.

The 2nd annual  Take The Mic Public Speaking event and competition took place as the third event on Saturday, January 26th at the Lowcountry Graduate Center in North Charleston. The event was the brainchild of Dr. Kendra Spencer who is an educator and on the Board of GSESC.

There were six competitors, all speaking on  "A letter to the future me".  The event was founded and co-sponsored by Allaboard Toastmasters who helped train and mentor the girls for the 6 weeks leading up to the competition. 

There were 4 official judges and 2 timekeepers. It was timed and rated just like any other official timed public speaking competition. Special Guest judges were:

Laura Zigby-Dye- Account Manager ll American Red Cross and Board of Directors GSESC

Kelly Golden - iHeart radio  - 2nd Vice Chair and Fund Development Chair, GSESC

Tessa Spencer - On-Air Personality with Magic 107.3 FM of Cumulus Charleston and TV news anchor for ABCNEWS4 WCIV

Bill Pickle - Florence Political Talk Show Host - "In the Pickle Barrel."

Timekeepers were: Theo Sotiroglou and Wendy Young, both of Allaboard Toastmasters and members of the GSESC Board. 

The Chief Judge was TM Helen Cash. 

Master of Ceremony was TM Carroll Cash.

There was a 2-minute break between each speaker with an intermission between the third and fourth speaker.

As for the winners walking away with trophies:

Alyssa Gresham, Cadette of Troop 387 - Charleston won 1st place this year. Juanita Green of Troop 194 - Florence grabbed 2nd place and Sarai Rodgers, Cadette of Troop 778 - Florence took the 3rd place honor.